My personal blogging list/gender discrimination.

13Mar10

I feel so off today. It’s been the craziest week, working 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. or later each day. And not for nothing — I got some great news at work this week about upcoming projects.

But I’m tired. Most weekdays, I’m in bed by 10 p.m. and up and at’em at 5:45 a.m. Not so this week. Bed somehow deluded me until at least 11 each night. Oh well. This is what weekends are for, I guess.

The wedding flower estimate arrived last night. Almost $3,000! It seems like so much money for freaking flowers. Then again, I’m really invested in the idea of flowers at the reception. It’s just a tall, stark, masculine room where the reception is being held. I’d really like to give the room  a more natural atmosphere, and the flowers will help.

*************************************************

Yesterday I stopped writing because, well, let’s face it, the above paragraphs are boring. I’m trying not to stress out at all about publishing anything dull because the point is just to write anything and get it out there, but still, I’m a little bothered.

Why do I only read blogs of women my age or within a ten-year radius (in either direction)? I don’t read any male bloggers, and I don’t read any bloggers (that I’m aware of) that are older than 40 or younger than 20. I’m the same way with novels. Generally, I read books by women about women. Primarily, I’m interested in protagonists who are children or whose ages range up to about 35. Women older than that are OK, but generally I wait for my mother to lend with those. If there’s a male character that plays a large role in an ensemble piece, I’ll still read the book, but generally won’t enjoy his plots.

For a long time I never thought consciously about this. I just bought what I liked to read and carried on with life. But lately I’ve noticed myself scanning the author’s name before picking a novel up in a store or the library and actually putting down books because they deal with too many male characters.

To be honest, I don’t even know what men blog about! I have no idea. What goes on in their heads that they feel the need to publish? Any male blogger I’ve accidentally stumbled across has a niche blog, not a personal blog. And the fact of the matter is that I don’t care either way!

No Responses Yet to “My personal blogging list/gender discrimination.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

