Chocolate croissant redemption.

15Mar10

On Sunday we did something we hadn’t done since November! We ran outside. And by run, I mean, we used the Galloway method to great effect for the first time ever outdoors. Adam doesn’t belong to a gym, so he basically just works out with me when he’s over on the weekends. So two cardio sessions a week. But let’s face it. My gym is in my apartment building. It’s a well-lit shoebox with about eight really nice cardio machines (with TVs in them) and some free weights that I’ve never touched because I like to think I get all my strength training in via yoga podcasts. I’m not apologizing either because I can finally see my bicep muscles!

Anyway. We ran a total of about three miles and walked another four. It was a little damp outside and really muddy, but it felt great to be back out in Rock Creek Park. Neither of us mentioned it, but I couldn’t help thinking about how the Park was where Adam originally planned to propose. Another story for another day though!

After we ran/walked our seven miles, we felt victorious. And worthy. And deserving. We decided we needed lunch. So we walked (another two miles!) down to Open City,  home of the most delicious veggie burger in D.C. And fries. And a large Greek salad split for two. And on the walk home … we may have stopped for chocolate croissants. Suffice to say, not a vegan kind of day. Also, I was not nearly virtuous enough to require all that food. Particularly after eating dessert both Friday (chocolate-covered pretzels) and Saturday (peanut butter pie).

Today I am trying to eat like a normal, non-sugar-obsessed person. It’s amazing how sugar hooks you though. I’m normally not one to crave sugar but I have been going crazy for it all day long. Here’s my food breakdown for the day:

Breakfast: Oatmeal (made with almond milk) and a spoonful of almond butter.

Lunch: Trader’s Joe’s frozen Channa Masala with one piece of whole wheat naan, an apple.

Snack: Um, two cups of peanut butter puffins.

Dinner: Spinach/pineapple smoothie made with almond milk, avocado sandwich on whole wheat bread, carrot sticks.

Then I did 30minutes on the Stairmaster (I never thought I’d say this, but MTV’s “Summit on the Summit” documentary was really motivating, even though I was climbing on a large metal and plastic machine and not Mt. Kilimanjaro), another 20 on the elliptical, and 20 minutes of Core Yoga for good measure. I already feel better, cleaner, than I did when I woke up.

Unfortunately, I suspect the only cure for a peanut butter Puffin habit is finishing the box…

No Responses Yet to “Chocolate croissant redemption.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

