Healthy living blogger backlash!

23Mar10

Good grief, I give up for the day. Too many late nights and early mornings. Today better be my rest day because even if I made it to the gym, all I’d be doing is plodding along on the treadmill.

So I’m skipping! And eating gluten-free waffles! Which I bought accidentally! With Smart Balance!

Last night I came across an anti-healthy living blog for the first time. Well, the blog itself wasn’t focused on being anti-healthy living bloggers, the blogger just wrote a critical post about them. Weirdly, this is the first time I’ve seen anything like that. There are about five healthy living bloggers that I read on a regular basis, and half the time I just skim. I can only look at so many bowls of oatmeal, you know? But there is a part of me that really revels in the day-to-day minutiae of it. I like detail! Plus those bloggers usually post at least three times a day, and with my schedule (which involves a lot of 2-5 minute breaks throughout the day) constantly updated blogs can really help time scoot along.

What surprised me the most is that I agreed with a lot of the criticism the blogger put out there. It feels weird to acknowledge that I don’t like people I’ve never met who aren’t overtly rude or crude or bad people. There’s just this subtle feeling that in real life? We probably wouldn’t get along.

Of course, I’m never going to meet these people, so it doesn’t really matter. But it was still odd to realize that people whose every meal I at least skim daily are people I might not like to spend a lot of time with.

p.s. the subject line is a joke. Although some of these bloggers have such faithful legions of fans that it wouldn’t really matter if it wasn’t a joke.

No Responses Yet to “Healthy living blogger backlash!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

